• Verified

Kristen provides:

  • Passport ID
  • Email address
  • Phone Number
  • Website/Blog

Hi, I am Kristen

  • Live in Athens, Greece
  • Speaks English
  • Concierge Friend: 20.0 / hour
  • Virtual Friend: 25.0 / hour


Hello! I am an Aussie Archaeologist who lives in Greece. I dig old stuff, both literally and figuratively. I'm a lover of landscapes, science, art and new ideas. Fascinated by this amazing planet we live on, and human experience and all our weird and wonderfully diverse ways of being. I'm also a multi black-belt. Day-dreamer. Speaker. Artist. I love to travel, have a quirky sense of humour and love meeting new people. Specifically, I'm a settlement archaeology expert and veteran field archaeologist, who runs feminist history, hiking, and educational tours in Greece. I live on the beautiful island of Andros, and can offer local tips and information to ensure you have the best experience should you visit. I also have worked on Crete, Naxos, and Koufonisi, and lived in Athens on and off since 2012. I love food and know excellent hidden gastronomic gems, as well as wonderful places to see and explore. I can also offer insight and advice on how best to ensure a smooth trip and travel around this wonderful country. Also happy to help new expats with settling in and how to adjust to life in Greece. I've excavated archaeological sites in Greece, Cyprus, Jordan and Australia, and am passionate about archaeology, history and what humanity's material footprint can teach us. I'm currently a Postdoctoral Researcher at the Harvard Centre for Hellenic Studies, and the founding Director of the Digital Horizons Project – a vocational training project for humanities students to learn digital skills, inquiry, and gain project management and team leadership experience. I also love animals, and volunteer at the local animal shelter regularly. My PhD studied early Greek houses and households, recreating their homes and belongings, and working out what that said about their values and daily lives (hint: they loved sunshine, flexi homes, and drinking wine with friends and family). I moved to Greece to be closer to the fieldwork and places I love, and carve out a life that lets me research and teach to my heart's content, on my own terms while connecting with new people and sharing my joy and passion for history, nature and archaeology. In addition to my love of archaeology, I'm also an avid martial arts practitioner, with over 25 years of training Taekwondo and 15 in Haidong Gumdo (Korean Sword Art). I was fortunate enough to represent Australia at the Haidong Gumdo World Titles (semi-finalist), but largely I just love teaching students and watching their self-confidence grow. Since 2000, I have been a Senior Instructor at Wolves Taekwondo (Australia), before founding my own school in Sydney in 2009. Sadly, I had to close my school to pursue my archaeological dreams, and find new training venues for my students. But the spirit lives on! I am interested in so many things outside my specialties, and always love learning more. I read far and wide to the point of distraction. Always interested to speak with others who geek out on life and the weird and wonderful world around us.


Local Friend Beginner
Local Friend Beginner


Art & Photography Family & Kids Gastronomy Music & Nightlife Sports & Outdoors Wellness & Nature